Fabulous-ness Alert!

by flowergirlknits

Brace yourself – fabulous-ness ahead!

Pattern: Fiddlehead Mittens by Adrian Bizilia of Hello Yarn

Yarn: Tanis Fiber Arts Fiddlehead Mitten Kit, Yellow label yarn, “Jewel” colorway

Notes: I’m so very happy with how these turned out, but most of the credit needs to go to the beautifully written pattern by Adrian Bizilia of Hello Yarn and the gorgeous, hand-dyed yarn from Tanis of Tanis Fiber Arts. It was a match made in heaven; I just was the happy recipient of their talents.

The pattern stretched my skills to learn new techniques (I-cord cast-on, lining a mitten) and practice my stranding. The I-cord cast-on takes a little extra time but the result creates a lovely, tidy edge and also makes picking up stitches for the lining a breeze. Lining a mitten is such a clever yet practical idea, making them super warm and cozy – I plan to line future mittens whether it’s in the pattern or not! And oh yeah, the design itself – who doesn’t love swirls, especially swirls as charming and lovely as these?

The yarn (which is soft and springy) was a bit of a splurge, purchased as a kit from Tanis Fiber Arts, but was worth every penny. People literally gasp when they see the colors. The slight variations of the hand-dyed yarns compliment the design perfectly, never detracting from the fiddleheads. “Jewel” describes these colors perfectly – the contrast colors are vibrant and rich with the main color setting the stage beautifully. Some things are best left to the professionals; color co-ordinating is one of these.

Knitting these was a joy – I will definitely be knitting more Fiddleheads! They became that project you always hope for – a fun knit that you’re always anxious to get back to, a beautiful finished product. I should have made the lining just a teeny bit narrower and my stranding continues to be a work-in-progress, but essentially they’re perfect.

I just may sleep with them under my pillow tonight.

