Late to the Party

by flowergirlknits

One last FO from 2009 – a Noro Striped Scarf, made popular last year by the ever-ispiring Jared Flood of Brooklyn Tweed.

Pattern: Noro Striped Scarf

Yarn: Noro Silk Garden, no. 272 and 292

Notes: Why do people tell new knitters to knit scarves? Yes, there’s little/no fussing with gauge and fit and they’re good for practicing, but they’re so loooooonnng. Bor. ing. It takes a special kind of perserverance to finish one. Even with the amazing color changes that Noro is so famous for, this wasn’t the most exciting project ever. I actually started it nearly a year ago; it did not take me a year to knit. It just kept getting set aside for other projects, rather too easily and quickly. I finally decided that it needed to get off the needles once and for all and powered through.

Picking the colors for this scarf was probably the hardest part of the project and I’m not sure I made the best choice. I’m not always particularly crazy about how the color changes worked – in places it’s beautiful and vibrant, in other places the contrasts are muddy or indistinct. Silk Garden is an interesting study in contrasts – thick/thin, rustic/sophisticated – and always unpredictable.

Although I don’t have a huge number of WIPs lurking in the closet, it feels good to have this one finished and off the needles. I’m not sure I’ll use it for myself – maybe I’ll set it aside and give it as a gift someday – it’d be nice to have a small stash of finished gifts!

Back to mittens and sweaters! I just started some Fiddleheads and I believe it may be True Love! More next time.

