New Year, New Mittens

by flowergirlknits

New mittens for the New Year! I call them Pussywillow Mittens because the grey color and kitten-softness of the yarn and the knot/bobble shapes of the pattern are all a bit reminiscent of pussywillow catkins.

Pattern: Merion Mittens by MintyFresh

Yarn: Madelinetosh Tosh Merino, colorway “Silver Fox”

Notes: I’m very pleased with this project. The pattern was detailed and clearly written. The actual knitting was tons of fun and surprisingly quick. There is a lot going on (knots, seed stitch on the palm, through-the-back-loop ribbing, branches-and-knots pattern on the back) which keeps things interesting, but it all works together for a clean and sophisticated design.

I’m not 100% sure that I did all of the decreases correctly (decreasing in seed stitch can be frustrating), and this was the first time I’d done knots like this, so some are smoother than others, but overall I think the mittens turned out looking pretty good. They also fit really well!

The yarn is heavenly – super-soft and a bit silky and easy to work with. As far as my uneducated yarn eye can tell, it is a dead ringer for Malabrigo Worsted. This colorway is mostly solid, but with lots of depth. It does have a slight vinegar odor (which I believe has something to do with setting the dye) but it isn’t overwhelming and disappears with a sudsy bath.

Because they’ve been knit with the same yarn as my Thermis cowl, they make a nice set that “goes together” but isn’t “matchy-matchy”.  And there’s enough yarn leftover from these two projects that I might even attempt to squeeze out a hat.

Wishing everyone a very Happy New Year – hope it’s full of fun and successful knitting!

