Toasty Toes

by flowergirlknits

My feet were cold.

After a very chilly October, we’ve been enjoying some Indian summer weather with quite reasonable November temperatures. However, winter is looming and my feet are already cold when relaxing at home. Time for some house socks!

Pattern: Log Cabin socks

Yarn: Dream in Color Classy “Ruby River”

Notes: I love these socks – it’s the second time I’ve knit this pattern. The worsted weight yarn really zips things along and the ribs and cables keep things interesting. I made it last year, but the yarn I used (Berroco Ultra Alpaca), while beautiful and soft, didn’t hold up well to the abuse that comes with being a sock. Darning them only delayed the inevitable. Time for a new pair.

This time I choose DIC Classy which, although not specifically a sock yarn, appears to be sturdier than the Ultra Alpaca. For one thing, it’s machine washable, an excellent advantage considering the – ahem – less than pristine state of my floors. It also has a tighter twist and knits up to a nice firm fabric when knit in a tight gauge.

This is the first time I’ve knit with Classy, which had been languishing in my stash. I love the Dream in Color sock yarns, so I wasn’t surprised that I also enjoyed the worsted. As with the sock yarns, the colors are amazing. I love this colorway of saturated raspberry pink and jewel purples – a combination I also use in the garden as often as possible.

Looks like I got these done just in time – the five-day forecast is promising lots of cold temps and possibly even some snow. Thanks to my new house socks though, my feet have a good chance of staying nice and toasty.

