Ravelry Made Me Do It

by flowergirlknits

Ravelry swag and sock knitting

Happy Ravelry-versay to me!

Today is my second anniversary with my much-loved Ravelry! It’s hard to believe it’s been two years – I can’t even imagine anymore what it was like before Ravelry – the pattern search, the ability to organize your projects, yarn and needles, the online community. I’m quite certain that I am a better knitter than I would be without Ravelry, and that I’ve stuck with knitting and pushed the limits of what I thought I was capable of. I’ve meet some wonderful people through Ravelry (although I’m only rarely in the forums), discovered incredible patterns and learned techniques I never even knew existed. And it just keeps getting better – fun new features are constantly being added.

So, thanks Ravelry! I’m looking forward to many more happy years together!

Dream in Color Smooshy "Cinnamon Girl"

Knitting time around here is still somewhat limited, but it is getting better. Above is evidence that I’ve made progress on my Sunshine socks. Sadly, this is still the first sock – I’m going to have to beat feet (haha! so funny am I) to get the pair done by June 30 (for the KAL) You might notice that this sock is not pink as described in my previous post; it is in fact actually lime green. The pink yarn (a beautiful heathered color from Araucania) was too splitty (as was the first yarn I tried for this sock) – it just couldn’t handle the cabling. So I went with an established favorite of mine – this is ShiBui Sock in “Kiwi”. Love it. And it’s cabling like a champ. The Araucania will be saved for a lacy pattern in socks or a scarf (someday)

Finally, to celebrate my Ravelry-versary I stopped by the LYS and bought myself a skein of sock yarn. What can I say? Ravelry made me do it!

