Monkey-ing Around

by flowergirlknits

Between the English Rug and the opening of the Garden Season, the knitting has been a little quiet around here lately. It has not, however, disappeared.

spring Monkeys

Pattern: Monkey by Cookie A

Yarn: Dream in Color Smooshy, colorway “Giant Peach”

Notes: This is actually the third time I’ve knit Monkeys; however a couple were gifts and the pair meant for me was, cleverly enough, also felted by me so I felt I still needed a pair. After some recent knitting mishaps I needed something in a bright color with an interesting pattern that wasn’t too taxing. These Monkeys were perfect for this – the light peach really lets the stitches shine and the pattern is super fun to knit. This would be a great pattern for newer sock knitters who are ready to move beyond the basics. Also – pretty!

Toby might have a future as a model

In other knitting-related news, I’ve gone on a sock-pattern-book acquiring spree lately because, you know – you can never have too much sock yarn or too many sock patterns. I’ve already mentioned Cookie A’s new book Sock Innovations (seriously, this is a fabulous book – I plan to knit every single pattern in it) Next I received as gifts Knitting on the Road and Folk Socks, both by Nancy Bush. And then I splurged and bought Knitting Vintage Socks, also by Nancy Bush, Knitting Socks with Handpainted Yarn by Carol Sulcoski and Socks from the Toe Up by Wendy Johnson. I know! Amazing! I think this is a great collection of classics (the Nancy Bush books) and books destined to be classics (the other three, all published within the last 6 months)

I’m especially impressed by Wendy Johnson’s new book, just out last week. I’ve been following Wendy’s blog since I returned to knitting a couple years ago; it’s been a great source of inspiration. The photography in this beautiful book is excellent – lots of white background which shows off the socks beautifully plus multiple close-ups showing various angles –  very important to the knitter. And there isn’t a throw-away pattern in the book – I want to knit them all!  I haven’t knit any socks toe-up yet, but now I am so motivated to try!

Some various skeins of particularly beautiful sock yarn might have also been acquired in the past few weeks, but let’s not talk about that at the moment…

Now, back to the English Rug.

