March Round-Up

by flowergirlknits

March is nearly over and, I gotta tell you, I’ll be glad to see the last of it. It’s been dull, drab and chilly with only a few glimpses of Spring. April is bound to be better, even if Winter does try to horn in a bit.

Project Spectrum – March

Here is a mosaic I put together for the first month Project Spectrum; I chose to focus on ” green” and “rocks” from the North elements. I’m not overly thrilled with this (see “dull, drab and chilly” from above) – March in this part of the country just doesn’t lend itself to a lot of excitement. Also, while green is a perfectly fine color (especially when it’s new green leaves), it’s not my all-time favorite [break out those garish Easter colors!]  I would characterize the mood of these pictures as contemplative, anticipatory, waiting.

Malabrigo March

This has been a fun event that introduced me to interesting new patterns, and knitting with Malabrigo is always a treat. I finished three of the four KALs I signed up for (Thermis, Meret Beret and Breathe Deep mittens) and enjoyed them immensely. I didn’t finish Ishbel; I’m thinking I should simply admire other people’s lace rather than knit my own, at least for now. It’s been put in hibernation. In the grand tradition of biting off more than you can chew, I had two more non-KAL Malabrigo projects I had hoped to get done but didn’t; I’ll continue to work on Totally Autumn (which I’m liking very much) and should finish up the Birthday Cowl very soon (maybe even yet tonight, just under the wire!)

Makin’ Cookies March KAL

This went quite well, with lovely finished Hedera socks which I’ve already worn a couple of times.

Secret Knitting Project

Sadly, the Secret Knitting Project I mentioned earlier this month has not panned out. It was no ones fault, I Just. Couldn’t. Get. Gauge. which was absolutely critical for this project. (As an aside, I find it completely ironic that ME, one of the finest World Class Worriers ever, the one that makes lists and schedules and charts and plans out everything – even spontaneity (really) – is a loopy loose knitter! You’d think it would be just the opposite. It’s. Just. Not. Fair.) The project is still secret, so I’m not going to say any more except that I’m beyond disappointed and my knitting confidence is a little shaken. Guess it’s just the Knitting Gods, keeping me in my place.

Spring is Almost Here

Thankfully, April is almost here – my Favorite Month (not the Perfect Month – that would be May – but my Favorite Month)  I’m going to knit up a pair of Monkeys in a light, spring color for some Cookie KALs that are going on in April (amazingly, even though I’ve knit this pattern 2 or 3 times, I don’t have a pair for myself) These will be great for travel knitting. And I’ll be working a bit on finishing some UFOs. But I’m going to be easing up on the knitting a bit – March has been fun but intense. My friend Chris and I are going to do a Members Only KAL (we’re the only members!) for finishing up non-knitting handwork; my project is Quite Large and will take a lot longer than a month, but the encouragement to start up again will be great. I’ll tell you more about it soon.

Now, I’m going to go knit on that Birthday Cowl – see if I can get it done before midnight tonight!

