Ivy League

by flowergirlknits

Flying Needles here has another FO and just in time for the first day of  Spring (my favorite season) – Hedera Socks!

climbing the walls

Pattern: Hedera by Cookie A

Yarn: Dream in Color Smooshy, colorway “Spring Tickle”

Notes: Another winning pattern from Cookie A. I really like the lace pattern on these – very pretty. And an open lace like this makes the socks wearable even in warmer months (especially when you work in an air conditioned building) The gusset is very long in this pattern – much longer than other socks I’ve made, but they seem to fit fine.

At first I was a little unsure of this color but have grown to love it. It reminds me of the unique, fleeting greens of this time of year – grass beginning to green up and push through the last browns of winter. I love looking at the names of yarns – how do people come up with some of them? This color fits it’s name perfectly and somehow it feels right to do this pattern in green (Hedera is the Latin name for ivy)  It’s also beautifully, subtly variegated which makes it interesting but doesn’t fight with the pattern. DIC I heart you!

artsy toe shot

This project is another multi-tasker – it’s part of the current “Makin’ Cookies” March KAL on Ravelry and also fits in nicely with Project Spectrum’s  focus on greens.

In other news, I’ve started up my garden blog again (which helps explains the “flowergirl” part of this blog title); there’s not a lot on it yet (I just set it up yesterday!) but if you’re interested in flowers and growing things, by all means stop by.

And, my Secret Knitting Project is about to begin – the yarn should arrive any day – so things may go pretty quiet here until I’m finished. Until then, enjoy your knitting and the new season!

