March Surprises

by flowergirlknits

March is barely five days old and already it’s been eventful. Some of it good (an interesting new project at work), some of it not-so-good (I slipped on the wet floor of the staff kitchen yesterday and fell – hard! – on my keester; nothing worse than a major bruise and some pulled muscles, but it hurt!) and some of it kind of wonderful – I have a Secret Knitting Project!

Me! A Secret Knitting Project (SKP)! I know! I’m as amazed as anyone. “Secret” being what it is, all I’m going to say about it for now is that I’m thrilled and very excited. As soon as I’m able, I’ll fill you in on all the details (probably till you’re sick of them!)

Because of the SKP (which I’ll be working on for the next few weeks), I’m not going to get nearly as many of my March projects knitted as I had planned, but I have finished one – a birthday present for a good friend of mine.

Pattern: Thermis by Kristin Patay

Yarn: Malabrigo Worsted, colorway “Verde Adrianne”

Notes: This is the second time I’m made this pattern and I still love it. I did drop down a needle size which I think was wise (loose knitter that I am) I don’t think there’s a better paring of yarn and pattern out there – the Malabrigo is so soft and the ribbing and thermal patterning make it so cushiony. Perfect for protecting and comforting an otherwise cold, exposed neck and face.

My friend loves dark greens; I was a little worried that this was too much of a “Christmas” green, but now I think it’s fine. The buttons were some I had on hand – I may change them out if I find something better at the store tomorrow, although I do like these leather ones.

Thermal is one of the KALs for Malabrigo March on Ravelry (so I got at least one KAL done!) It also fits in nicely with the current Project Spectrum 4 focus – winter and green – a lovely winter accessory in forest green. A multiple winner.

