I’d Like to Thank the Academy…

by flowergirlknits

OK, it’s not an Oscar. It’s better actually, especially since I’ve never worked in the movie industry beyond buying a ticket to see a movie, and because this award is from someone I know. The lovely and talented Jen has nominated flowergirl knits for a Lemonade Stand Award. The award is for demonstrating a positive attitude and/or gratitude (obviously, Jen has not seen me at some of my less-stellar moments!) I am very touched and honored and, wow – that really made my day! Thanks Jen!

Part of the award is to nominate 10 other blogs that show positive attitude and/or gratitude and link to them. (I’m also supposed to let them know by commenting on their blog but, because I am a Shy Commenter – although a Loyal Lurker! – I’m going to let that slide for the most part) Here’s my list of Lemonade Stand Award-worthy blogs – I highly recommend that you check them out!

McSmithleyville – right back at ya Jen! Follow the adventures of the world’s happiest, sweetest baby and his talented and creative parents. (Love the overhead shot of the dogs on your banner, Jen!)

Posie Gets Cozy – Talk about positive! In 1998, newly married and just arrived in a new city, Alicia was hit by a truck and nearly lost her foot. Everything about her life changed that day, but she focused on new directions, not the past. Charming, beautiful crafts, lovely photography and excellent writing.

Itty Bitty Kitty Committee – Cute title, fantastic blog. Laurie lives in the Seattle area where she fosters litters of kittens for the local Humane Society. Writing with humor and heart about her tiny charges, the photography will astound you and the sweet kitten faces will melt your heart!

Yarn Harlot – Every knitter knows the Yarn Harlot (or they should) Great knitting delivered with wit and humor, great insight into family life and a real commitment to helping others (she spearheads the Knitter’s Without Borders organization that donates money to Doctors without Borders)

Lolly Knitting Around – Knitting, yoga and an incredibly generous spirit mark Lolly’s blog as well as excellent writing and photography. Lolly is the mastermind behind Socktoberfest and Project Spectrum.

Miss Effie’s Diary – Kathy has a cut-your-own flower farm, raises ducks and chickens (and sells beautiful organic eggs) and has a boundless enthusiasm for life and all it’s muddy beauty. And she knits too!

That’s a good start. You can’t go wrong with any of these strong, inspiring, talented women, each making the world a little better.

In other news, I’m still knitting furiously. At some point I’m going to have several FOs appearing bing bang boom! all at once like I’m some kind of crazy speed knitter but for now there’s progress (the Noro Striped scarf is at the halfway point, the Hemlock Ring blanket has been waiting for a needle which finally arrived Friday and Tang could be done in a day or two) but nothing to show for it. Yet.

Now, back to knitting — as soon as I finish polishing my award! 😉

