Mighty Mitts

by flowergirlknits

I used to not “get” fingerless mitts – when my hands get cold (which is pretty often) I want the whole hand – fingers and all – covered. But then they rearranged our desks at work and now the cold rush of winter weather blasts us every time the door opens (very Dickensian-sounding, isn’t it?) We’ve blocked drafts as best as we could and keep blankets for our legs and laps and wear multiple layers of sweaters and shirts, but our hands need to be free to be able to use the computer. Mighty Mitts to the rescue!

Pattern: 75 Yard Malabrigo Fingerless Mitts by Jeanne Stevenson

Yarn: Malabrigo worsted, colorway  “Purple Mystery”

Notes: This is a great little project in so many ways. It’s very fast – I finished these in under three hours total for both mitts. The pattern is elegantly simple, yet clever details such as the construction of the thumb gusset and changing needle size to create a close-fit at the fingers – make it wearable and fun. I used less than half  a skein of Malabrigo (left over from my Crofter’s Cowl) making it perfect for using up some of that fabulous yarn. And of course, the Malabrigo makes them warm and super soft.

It’s been cold here but now they’re are predicting Arctic cold – as in highs in the single digits during the day – for next week. I may try to churn out a couple more pairs of these quick – I think Mighty Mitts are going to be very popular!

