Love is All Around

by flowergirlknits

Remember the “Mary Tyler Moore Show”? A relatively simple story about a single, career woman who was not dependent on a man or obsessed with “getting” one that became one of the best loved tv shows ever. Remember the opening title sequence with shots of Mary going about her daily life, while that familiar theme song plays? Then, at the end, the most famous shot of all – Mary tossing her tam into the air, her face full of life and joy. Great show.

it's not Minneapolis but it sure is starting to feel like it here

This beret/tam isn’t the right color (Mary’s was navy blue or black), but otherwise it’s  pretty close – and a great hat for a Minneapolis winter, no matter where you’re at.

Pattern: Tweed Beret by Kristen TenDyke, from the Winter 2006 Interweave Knits magazine

Yarn: Tahki Donegal Tweed, red

Notes: This was one of those last-minute “I should quick knit so-and-so a gift” which usually ends badly. However, this was a great pattern that holds up under this kind of pressure – very quick to knit, straightforward but interesting with good results. I like the way the ribbing, which builds gradually after you’ve finished all of the increases, gently draws in the hat and creates a gentle poof. The rolled brim creates a nice, firm edge that should help it stay on the head. I like it so much, in fact, that I might make another for myself (I have plenty of yarn left)

tweed and snow still life

I have mixed feelings about the yarn; it’s a beautiful color – a nice cranberry red that’s just right for the winter with generous flecks of black and grey and light red to give it great character. But it’s also stiff and scratchy; a wash helped soften it considerably and I think for a hat it’ll be fine (and very warm) but I certainly wouldn’t want it for a next-to-the-skin sweater. It was also hard on the hands while knitting; the final product made the work worthwhile though.

I am also concerned about the sizing. I went down a needle size from the suggested in the pattern and knit the smallest size but it still seems a little large. It’s a gift for my Mom and she has a more normal size head then my giant noggin. It fits me fine, but not so sure how it’ll work for her (Plus, I’m not sure she even wants a hat! This is just me thinking she should have a hat!) I may resort to that old Loose Knitters trick and try shrinking it a bit in the dryer. We’ll have to wait for Christmas for the final verdict on this hat!