Ahhhh…..That’s Better

by flowergirlknits

warm and comfy and it doubles as neck camouflage!

Now this is a cowl – soft, warm, pretty pattern, purple. It’s large enough to easily pull on over your head, yet it has enough substance to stand up on it’s own (and can be pulled up over your nose on those sharply cold days) And it’s finished just in time – winter has arrived and it means business.

Pattern: Crofter’s Cowl (Ravelry link) by Gudrun Johnston

Yarn: Malabrigo worsted, colorway “Purple Mystery”

hey! that's snow on the ground

Notes: This is a great pattern with very satisfying results. It is knit in two pieces and then grafted together. The lace pattern is simple but interesting (I found stitch markers to be essential); the only difficult part was Kitchnering the two halves together. I actually like to use the Kitchner stitch – it makes such a neat and clean join – but 80 stitches of Kitchnering got tedious. At some point about 2/3rds of the way around my mind wandered for a minute and I got off by one stitch, but I don’t think it’s a big deal. If I make the pattern again (and I probably will), I’ll simply do 6 repeats of the pattern (as have others on Raverly) and instead of points on each end, there will be one end with a straight edge.

This yarn is incredible. Very soft, creating a warm yet lightweight fabric, dyed in incredible, mouth-watering colors. It is a delight to knit with and now, a delight to wear. I have heard that sweaters knit in Malabrigo tend to pill, but I don’t really care (and nor do most Malabrigo users on Ravlery); that’s what sweater shavers are for. There is a lot more Malabrigo in my future.

Before I can plunge into more Malabrigo though, I need to finish up some other projects including getting back to Flyingdales. I am well into the cable, rib and seed-stitch section now and it’s fascinating to watch it grow, once I got it established and could “see” it. I’m loving the yarn – Green Mountain Spinnery Mountain Mohair – which I picked up at Stitches Midwest. It promises to be very warm and cozy, which will come in handy if only I can get it finished!

