Log Cabin Love

by flowergirlknits

Log Cabin socks posed on an actual log - authentic!

Too late for Socktoberfest, but just in time for colder weather, some nice fluffy house socks.

Pattern: Log Cabin Socks by Anne Woodbury from Handknit Holidays (Ravelry link)

Yarn: Berroco Ultra Alpaca, colorway “Redwood Mix”

Notes: Wow – these went fast! Good thing too – we went from highs in the 70s to highs in the 30s and 40s literally overnight. Slippers are good, but my ankles need some love too; enter the Log Cabin Socks.

warm ankles

Knit with larger needles (4s) and thicker yarn (worsted) than my usual sock knittting operandi (1s and fingering), these grew by leaps and bounds. The cables are simple but interesting and I love the way they twine and untwine. I also love the cables that continue down the heel of the sock – a great detail!

This is the first time I’ve knit with Ultra Alpaca and I really liked it – I would love to knit a nice cozy sweater with this yarn someday. The colorways available are amazing. “Redwood Mix” is kind of heathered bright red with bits of black giving it a lot of depth. Sometimes it appears quite light, sometimes almost ruby red.

Another giant bonus to this project – this was stash yarn! I don’t even remember what I bought it for in the first place, but it was perfect for this pattern; it took just slightly more than one skein. I should have enough to make a pair of simple mitts with what’s left (I had two skeins)

yes, that's a bowl of Malabrigo sock yarn - yummm!

Lately I’ve been trying to turn to my stash more and to knit with what’s in it as much as possible rather than then blindly rushing to buy new yarn for every pattern. Now, I haven’t stopped buying yarn – haha! what a jokester you are! But I did some organizing in my craft room/home office and was a little shocked at just how much beautiful yarn I had. Now, I am not anti-stash – in fact I think a healthy stash is a good thing. But it seemed a shame that so much gorgeous yarn wasn’t reaching its full potential, but hidden away in plastic bins. Much better that it strut its stuff, preferable adorning my feet or shoulders! I’m treating it as a friendly challenge and so far it’s been fun. Yarn shop owners need not fear, however…..awww Malabrigo Sock Yarn, how I love thee….

