I Feel Bad About My Neck….

by flowergirlknits

Nora Ephron wasn't kidding...

Keeping that great title from Nora Ephron’s latest book in mind, I present the Autumn Cowl.

Pattern: Gloria Cowl by Orinda5 (Ravelry link)

Yarn: Claudia Hand Painted fingering weight held doubled throughout, colorway “Desert Dusk”

Notes: Basically a plain stockinette tube bordered with seed stitch edges, this is super quick and super easy. Sadly, I feel it’s too big around although it’s still usable; next time I make this pattern I will cast on fewer stitches (this one was 99 stitches) and maybe go down another needle size. I’d like to be able to pull the edge up over my mouth and nose when it’s really cold and windy; this one is too loose and floppy to do that.

On the other hand, I did wear it today and liked it. And I’ve already been told by someone that I need to knit one for her for Christmas. sigh I wasn’t planning on knitting anything for her for Christmas….

action shot

What makes this cowl special is the yarn – Claudia Hand Painted comes in multiple gorgeous color combinations and is super soft (and washable). I’ve had these skeins on hand for quite some time; it’s beautiful, but lately I’ve become more interested in knitting socks with cables and stitch patterns that don’t always work well with variegated yarns.  (Also, it’s orange and while I like orange, it’s not usually my first choice) So it’s been marinating in the stash; I had even considered posting it on Ravelry for sale. It’s perfect for this project; the simple pattern gives the yarn a chance to really shine, it comes in two small skeins that makes holding it double very easy and it’s nice and soft.

I did have to watch that the color repeats didn’t line up – I started out with the color repeats staggered but after an inch or two they lined themselves up. I kept knitting, thinking they’d separate soon but they absolutely refused so I cut about 12 inches out of one strand to get them staggered again. The staggering creates a softly mottled look that I especially like; it also reminds me of all the colors of autumn and the three big events of the season: Harvest, Halloween and Thanksgiving.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go buy some neck cream…

