Socktoberfest Round-Up and Another FO!

by flowergirlknits

Whew! October went by fast – too fast. But it was fun what with all the sock knitting. And just in time, I finished up another pair of socks:

artsy photo by christine

Pattern: BFF Socks by Cookie A

Yarn: A Piece of Vermont Merino Fingering in colorway 05, a lovely gray/blue. According to Ravelry this yarn is discontinued; I hope the company has replaced it with something similar because this is fabulous yarn – very soft that is excellent to knit with (it reminds me of Dream in Color Smooshy) and a beautiful, subtle, complex colorway

cable-y goodness

Notes: These socks were my “travel knitting”, so they were worked on sporadically and progressed very slowly; I used Socktoberfest to focus more on them and get them done. The pattern is straightforward and not difficult; I really like the combo of ribs and cables (fairly common in sock patterns) They’re a little big on me, especially in the heel, but I think a spin in the dryer after a wash will take care of that.

I chose this yarn out of the stash to match my Veste Everest – the vest is a heathered teal with bits of grey and the socks are grey with spots of teal – clever huh?! They’ll go great with my grey slacks no matter what sweater or jacket I’m wearing.

Socktoberfest 2008 Roundup

l to r, KAL Mystery socks, BFF socks, Twisted Flower socks, 3/4ths done

I very much enjoyed participating in Socktoberfest this year.  I was surprised at how much I was able to accomplish when I concentrated on specific projects;  the deadline – gentle as it was – gave me focus. The KAL Mystery Socks (Ravelry link) from Through the Loops was a special treat. Toward the end of the month I did start contemplating new, non-sock projects but I’m very pleased with the sock knitting that was accomplished. I’m looking forward to Socktoberfest 2009! Thanks again to Lolly for creating such an inspiring knitting event!

I’m now facing a bad case of start-itis. Or maybe it’s I-don’t-know-which-of-the-multiple-projects-I-want-to-knit-next-itis. After some initial resistance I’ve fallen into the cowl camp, there are two more socks ready to jump onto the needles (actually, more than two but two with deadlines) not to mention finishing the Twisted Flower sock, ribbing on the Flyingdales (Ravelry link) cardigan is finished and patiently awaiting a body and I’m anxious to get started on a Stonewall stole with yarn from the stash…..And oh yeah, November is NaKniSweMo (National Knit a Sweater in a Month) and I’m seriously considering participating by knitting a Mr Greenjeans cardigan (yarn, needles and pattern all at the ready) What to do?

If only work and sleep would stop interfering with my life….!

