Happy Socktoberfest!

by flowergirlknits

October 1 brings sharply cooler weather, a changing of the season – and socks! Socktoberfest was thought up by the very creative Lolly and is designed as a celebration of hand knit socks. There are no competitions or rules and even the start and end dates are flexible; it’s first and foremost a celebration of hand knit socks. And it’s a great excuse to focus on socks! Because, who doesn’t love soft, warm, colorful handmade socks?!

twisted flower socks in progress

Although this isn’t a contest, there are lots of activities associated with Socktoberfest. If you’re on Ravelry, be sure to check out the “Socktoberfest” group where there will be lots of encouragement, advice and showing-off of beautiful creations. Also, be sure to check out the “Fans of Through the Loops” group; designer Kristin is doing a Mystery Sock KAL. Each week she’ll post the next part of the directions to a sock pattern (cuff, leg, heel turn, foot, toe) – fun!

bff socks, growing slowly

Besides the Mystery Sock, I’m using Socktoberfest to give me a nudge to knit a special pair of socks – my first Wollmeise yarn (Ritterspoon), which I scored back in July, using a Cookie A (I heart Cookie A) pattern I picked up at Stitches Midwest – Twisted Flower. I actually started this last weekend (flexible start time!) and so far all is good. I had read that Wollmeise A) twists a lot and B) feels a bit like cotton yarn while knitting. To counteract the twisting, I wound the yarn into a cake, then wound it from the cake into a new cake. The yarn is twisting some, but not annoyingly. And yes, the yarn is a bit cotton-like (it’s supposed to bloom beautifully after washing), but this hasn’t caused any problems for me.

I’ll also continue to work on my “lunchtime socks”. These are BFF socks (Cookie A again!) using A Piece of Vermont sock yarn. Because I often only knit on them 10-20 minutes a day (and some days not at all), they’re progressing slowly. But I like how they’re turning out so far.

After that (and it may be long past October by then) I’ll start on a pair of socks for my brother for Christmas. His not-so-subtle hints are working.

Now get out there and knit some socks! You (and your toes!) will be glad you did!

