FO Thursday

by flowergirlknits

pretty hat for big heads

If it’s Thursday, it must be time for another FO! Don’t hold your breath for another FO next Thursday though – this was a super-quick knit. Also, super-fun; this hat would make a great gift for anyone on your list.

Pattern: The Amanda Hat by Gina House

Yarn: Malabrigo Worsted, “Tuscan Sky” colorway

Notes: Fun, fun, fun. I loved how quickly this knit up; simple yet interesting. I found a detailed description of the lace pattern on the Amanda Hat KAL on ravelry which really clarified the stitches for my slow-to-grasp brain. The yarn, well – it’s Malabrigo. It’s wonderful. Butter soft, gorgeous colors, fabulous textures. Incredible stuff. I’m planning on knitting a sweater out of this yarn soon.

bird's-eye view

This pattern makes a very “deep” hat – it is meant to cover your ears and forehead. This makes for a very warm hat, but if this is too big for your tastes, several people on ravelry have shortened their hats by knitting fewer lace rows or garter rows.

Soon this hat will be winging it’s way north, to my friend Carol in Madison, WI. When I visit she’s always a good sport about chauffeuring me to various garden nurseries and knitting shops in the Madison area (there are several very fine ones of each there) She does garden, but she’s not a crafter at all, so that’s a bit above and beyond. Last time I was in town, she kept pointing out the various hats on display at the knit stores – ok, hint taken! I let her choose the pattern, then choose this Malabrigo from my stash (she loves blue, so it’s perfect) It should get lots of use during the coming Wisconsin winter (they got 100 inches of snow last year – Carol was not amused!)

And it’s always a good idea to keep your knitting-obsession-enablers happy!

