No Oxygen Required

by flowergirlknits

I love how the center cable splits at the point of the v-neck

Finishing in near record time (for me) – FO Veste Everest. No oxygen (or sherpa) was used in the knitting of this garment.

Pattern: Veste Everest by Veronik Avery

Yarn: Cascade Heathers 220, #9452

Modifications: Added one full cable pattern repeat to the length of the body.

that's a lotta cables

Notes: I am almost silly with pleasure about this FO. It was so much fun to knit (cables! lots and lots of cables!), it was quick and it fits nicely (a little waist shaping would have been nice, but it’s not a deal breaker) And it’s done in time for the cooler days of rapidly approaching autumn.

I taught myself how to cable without a cable needle with this project, using instructions from knitty. The first couple of cable rows were awkward and slow and made me quite cranky (-er than usual) But, like most new things,  pretty soon the pieces fell into place and suddenly it was easy. And, as promised, quicker than using a cable needle. It’s a technique I’d recommend any cable knitter pick up.

The pattern is nicely straightforward and the lack of sleeves really speeds things up. Interestingly, the cables are spaced 6 and 8 rows apart in each pattern repeat, giving the vest a slightly modern interpretation. Also, there is no ribbing at the lower edge; you simply knit the set-up rows on a smaller needle.

what can I say - I'm from Iowa. cornfields make me happy.

I did have some issues with the finishing, specifically knitting the ribbing on the neckband and armholes, even though there’s nothing terribly difficult going on. You do have to cram a lot of stitches onto a 16″ circular which is kind of awkward, and because I’m such a loose knitter, I was using a size 2 needle (the pattern calls for a size 4 for the ribbing) This caused my hands to cramp, but lots of stretching breaks helped. Also, ptbl? Yuck. Although it does make for a snappy looking ribbing.

Love the yarn. Love Cascade 220, especially the heathers. Love it.

The combination of cables and ribs makes a substantial fabric – warm too! It should see a lot of use over the next few months, even here among the cornfields, far from the Himilayans.

