Going Green, Baby

by flowergirlknits

Due to my various absences and technical difficulties, I’ve got a bit of a backlog of FOs at the moment. I also have a bit of a backlog of garden projects to complete and home improvement projects to get started on, so I haven’t be able to get to the computer as much as I’d like (plus, the Olympic trails have started and Wimbledon begins on Monday – great for knitting but not so great with a non-laptop computer!) However, I’m going to go through each FO one post at a time – each was fun and special and I don’t want to short change any one of them!

First up, Baby Soft Cardigan, knit for the handsome Issac. I wanted a project that was a little more than socks, but not overly complicated. I also wanted a pattern that had had a lot of success for other knitters on Ravelry. And, at the time I was knitting it, we didn’t know the gender of the baby yet. Issac’s Mom, Jen, is a fabulous knitter herself, so I knew she would appreciate the work and thought that goes into a handknit. The Baby Soft Cardigan turned out to be the perfect – charming pattern, lots of fun to knit, appropriate for a boy or a girl. Ding ding ding! We have a winner!

Pattern: Baby Soft Cardigan from The Knitters Book of Yarn by Clara Parks, pattern by Jennifer Hagan.

Yarn: Blue Sky Alpaca Organic Cotton in “Sand” colorway.

Notes: I loved knitting this. The pattern was fun and relatively quick (although it did take me longer than two days which is how quick someone on Ravelry knit it!) Just enough pattern to be interesting without being fussy. I added a row of single crochet all along the edges (as recommended by Clara in her errata for the book); this gave the sweater a nice finished edge and a polished look. This is the first time I’ve used the Organic Cotton yarn and now I’m a fan. I was a little afraid that the natural, undyed color (I ordered it online) might be plain or dull but it’s quite the opposite – subtle, complex shading of tans and creams that created a lovely fabric. It’s also super-soft and easy to knit with. And I really love the fact that the yarn is organic – great for the knitter, great for the baby and great for the planet! And the little wooden buttons seemed to be just the right final touch.

The cardigan is still a little big for Issac, but Jen hopes that he will get some use out of it when it gets cool again this fall. I’ve already got more Organic Cotton yarn on hand for a second sweater for another baby. I think this little sweater is destined to be my go-to baby pattern!

