The Knitters Book of Yarn by Clara Parkes

by flowergirlknits

I was the very happy recipient of a fabulous new yarn book yesterday – The Knitters Book of Yarn by Clara Parkes. This has been on my amazon wishlist since I first saw it. The first part of the book talks about – you guessed it – yarn; the different fibers available, why some yarns work better for a project than others, the uses of yarns of various plies. While this section is very educational, it is also written with a light touch that makes reading about the world of fiber almost as much fun as knitting with it. I’m not a spinner, so a lot of this information is new to me and this book has taught me a lot already.

A really great feature of the book is that there are 40 patterns included. 40 is a huge number, so as you might imagine, there is something for just about everyone (although nothing really for the guys) I’m especially intrigued by the sock patterns, especially the Wavy Socks and the Guernsey Socks, some of the mitts such as the Princess Mitts and the Maine Morning Mitts, and the Norwegian Snail Mittens, but this is just the tip of the iceberg and I keep going back and looking at more and more of the patterns. My absolute favorite is the Cabled Tea Cozy knit with Malabrigo yarn. A tea cozy seems a little silly but something about the combination of cables and yarn and colors – yum.

The yellow Twisted Tulip socks are progressing. Did I mention, the pattern is crazy complicated? As in, crazy? It’s not particularly hard – just knits and purls and simple cables; it’s the combination of cables that makes it complicated (and the tiny needles and yarn maybe). It is not an intuitive pattern for me, I need to read each line of the chart and check it over and over as I knit. As it is, I made a fairly big mistake on the cuff, completely missing cables on several rows. It’s now an “interpretive design feature”. Haha! It doesn’t disturb the overall pattern and will probably only be noticed by me (and now you, I guess!) It’s also, as you might imagine, a v e r y  s l o w pattern to knit. I have some extra time this weekend; I hope to get at least one sock finished or close to.

Finally, in case you haven’t heard, there’s a major fundraiser going on over on Ravelry. I’m a big fan of Ravelry and believe it’s making me a better knitter and really pushing me to try new skills. if you haven’t joined, I recommend it highly. If you do belong, and you love it as much as I do, I urge you to donate. Check out Frick Knits blog for details. (And hey, it doesn’t hurt that a bunch of beautiful prizes are going to be handed out!) Here’s my little ad for Ravelraiser – I used a picture of Toby sleeping on yarn and added a LOL caption (my first attempt at this)

See, I’m even learning non-knitting skills from Ravelry! The fun never stops.

