It’s not easy being Yellow

by flowergirlknits

To paraphrase Kermit the Frog, one of the great philosophers of our age, it’s not easy being yellow.

Yellow has a lot of bad connotations. To be called “yellow” is to be called a coward. The ubiquitous Yellow Pages are useful, but certainly not glamorous. And what woman hasn’t heard the advice to never wear yellow because it looks awful with her complexion?

But, yellow is good things too. Sunshine. Daffodils. Sunflowers. I think yellow is calm and cheerful and I have come to realize that it’s one of my favorite colors. I’ve started adding more yellow to my wardrobe (I can’t see my complexion when I’m walking around anyway, so what do I care if it clashes with my jacket?), I painted my bedroom a soft, pale yellow and I’m adding yellow accessories to my home. I’m hungry for yellow. Including yellow sock yarn.

My search for yellow sock yarn proved to be more difficult than I had expected. Yellow just isn’t out there (see some reasons listed above), at least not like the plethora of greens and pinks and blues. And the right yellow is especially difficult; too much orange and it becomes gold, too much brown and it tends to brass, too much tan and it’s chamois, all perfectly nice colors, of course, but not pure yellow. Pure, simple yellow is just plain scarce.

I’m pretty pleased with what I did find and which arrived on Saturday. At the top is Lorna’s Laces sock yarn in “Sunshine”. A little darker than expected, but well within expectations; it reminds me of King Alfred daffodils, the ones with the classic, giant golden trumpets.

The second is ShiBui sock yarn in “Jonquil”; this is more like what I had in mind. It is a semi-solid so it has wonderful graduations of yellow to cream. It’s a little pale, and difficult to photograph – it’s not quite as tan as it looks in the picture. It reminds me a little of clotted cream, the classic English scone embellishment for afternoon tea (another lovely association for yellow!)

This yarn has quickly started to be turned into Twisted Tulip socks from the Spring issue of Interweave Knits. This is the first time I’ve used ShiBui and so far it’s fabulous – very soft but with substance. And I love their colors. The sock pattern is crazy complicated, requiring lots concentration, so these won’t be going to work with me for knitting a couple quick rows at lunchtime. I’ve started a plain ribbed sock in cotton for that. In lime green.

Yep, it’s springtime around here. Bring on the color.

