FO: Cable Twist Socks

by flowergirlknits

The application of a little focus and concentration, mixed in with a dollop of determination, and these puppies are done! I’ve got to say that it’s a bit of a relief partly because I wasn’t crazy about the color. It’s a nice green with lovely shaded variegations, but it just didn’t “sing” to me. Fortunately, the intended recipient has already seen the color and proclaimed that she loves it. Now I just hope they fit!

Pattern: Cable Twist by Hello Yarn (free pattern) with fingering weight modifications as outlined by Grumperina in her blog.

Yarn: Socks that Rock Lightweight

Colorway: Beryl

Notes: Nice pattern; it reminds me a bit of Charade with the stitch pattern every other row. However, this one is staggered, creating the nice lines of slipped stitches. As always, I adore STR yarn; I use other sock yarns and think “This is nice. Maybe STR isn’t all that unusually fabulous” and then I knit again with STR and am madly in love with it again. It’s in my top 3-4 sock yarns, no question. The green is a little dark for my taste, but that’s just me.

Yes, that’s snow in the picture. Late March snow and daffodils. Last year by this time those daffs were blooming or budding, this year they’ve barely begun to emerge. That’s springtime in Iowa for you.

The real shocking news around here is that I don’t have a pair of socks on the needles! Ack! Perhaps I’ve been seized by aliens! Actually, no. I’m going to try to hold off a few days until my yellow sock yarn arrives (it’s shipped). In the meantime I’m going to start knitting some baby socks for a co-worker who’s expecting next month – great way to use up some beautiful sock yarns. And I’m going to get back to work on a scarf I started a couple months ago (My So-Called Scarf pattern using Manos yarn – yum!) Maybe knitting a scarf will chase winter away once and for all!

