Peanut Butter Cup Socks

by flowergirlknits

Combine two unrelated ingredients – peanut butter/purple and chocolate/cables – and sometimes it becomes a classic. These socks are just that for me – purple-y goodness and cable magic combining to create a lovely, perfect fit sock. Yum.

Pattern: Rib and Cable Socks by Nancy Bush from Interweave Knits, Fall 2005

Yarn: Dream in Color Gaia (Ravelry reports this yarn is now called Smooshy)

Colorway: Visual Purple

Notes: These socks drew a lot of comment while I was knitting them, even though I’ve been knitting socks during my lunch for over a year now. I think people are attracted to purple, even if it isn’t their favorite color. It demands attention, therefore the choice of royalty (and adolescent girls!) Closer inspection of these socks revealed the cables which never fail to impress, especially non-knitters (They simply don’t believe you when you say how easy they are!) Cables never fail to impress me too; I love they way they flow out of the ribbing, down the leg, untwisting for the heel, continuing to the toe.

I had hoped to learn cabling without a cable needle on this project and although I did use this technique for several of the cables, I eventually went back to using a cable needle. When cabling without a cable needle, live stitches are left untethered – they were so tiny and vulnerable – I just couldn’t do it! Also, maybe using a yarn that is a little heftier than fingering for my first attempts (I have several candidates in my project que) might be a good idea. But I will try again!

I made no modifications and found no reason to want any; the pattern is lovely as written. I did have trouble on the first sock with the edges of the heel flap and the with picking up stitches along the heel flap, but the second sock went smoothly. The toe shaping, (new to me) “Star Toe of Three Points”, creates a decorative pattern by using p2tog and p3tog for decreases. At first I couldn’t see where this was going and was a little worried, but I hung in there and followed the directions; the finished toe is quite pretty and a little unusual; it also fits perfectly.

This was also the first time I’ve used Dream in Color sock yarn which lately has been all the rage in the knitting/internet world. I loved the color (of course); it has lots of subtle variagations that keep it interesting, but not so much that it fights with the stitch pattern. It knit up a little stiff, but it has softened up beautifully after soaking which makes it easy for me to understand why they renamed the yarn “Smooshy”.

Great socks, highly recommended pattern and yarn. Can’t wait to wear them!

