Cable love

by flowergirlknits

True to my New Year’s Knitting Resolutions, I’ve been busily knitting cables. Lots and lots of cables. I’m so happy that I chose resolutions that I like doing! Really ups the chance for achieving that sense of accomplishment.

The Central Park Hoodie is coming along swimmingly. The back and two front pieces have all been blocked; the first sleeve is finished and I’m well underway with the second sleeve. I really love this pattern – it’s knitting up fast, it looks lovely and the cables add just the right accent. Plus it’s oodles of fun to knit!

I also started new socks – Nancy Bush’s Rib and Cable Socks. These are tiny cables but they look so fabulous! I am trying a new (for me) technique with this pattern – cabling without a cable needle. Possibly the scariest thing I’ve done so far knitting-wise. I hate leaving those helpless, unprotected stitches to dangle off the needles until I can twist the others into place and reclaim them. So far I am very slow (and tense) while doing this; once or twice it has worked real slick but most times I’m struggling a bit. Perhaps it gets better with practice?

The yarn I’m using is Dream in Color Gaia which Ravelry says is now called Smooshy. I’ve read so much about how fabulous this yarn is – I’m reserving judgement until after the sock is soaked. So far it seems stiff and while certainly not scratchy, it’s not terribly “smooshy” either. The color, however, is lovely – I’m liking the semi-solid with the cables as it allows the pattern to shine.

The weather is frigid here right now and I have no hand knit scarves! Can you believe it? This has been bugging me for some time now so I started one – My So Called Scarf in Manos del Uruguay. This is crazy, of course since I’m desperate to get my CPH done while it’s still cold and it creates the dilemma of what do I work on now? and crazy jumping from one project to the next and back again. Just what I don’t need – more crazy in my life. However, can I just point out – it’s entirely possible that Manos del Uruguay is the loveliest, softest yarn around and these colors? These plums and purples and pinks and crimsons, all in jewel tones – maybe the prettiest color combination ever (you should see my garden in May…)

Bonus: all the yarn in all of these projects – from my stash!

