Charade socks – Large Edition

by flowergirlknits

It’s amazing what a little focus – and a looming deadline – can do for getting something done. Also, the threat of running out of yarn – it all made for a rather tense sock-knitting experience, but the socks are knit now, finished safely within the available yarn limits, washed and ready to be packed for gift-giving. I am not sure they’re 100% successful – they knit up a bit larger than expected. I don’t know the recipients shoe size, so I don’t know if this is a bad thing, or a horrible thing….She’s a knitter too, and I think she’ll love the yarn and I know she’ll appreciate the work that went into them, so I’m going to go ahead and give them to her.

Pattern: Charade from I May Be Knitting a Ranch House

Yarn: Mountain Colors Bearfoot Sock Yarn in Wild Raspberry colorway

Notes: This is the first time I’ve ever used this yarn and it is lovely – silky soft with a slight fuzziness and with incredible, rich colors. I love the combination of reds and purples. I also very much like this sock pattern; it is simple enought to work up quickly, but with aa stitch that makes keeps it interesting.I don’t believe it has a much elasticity as a straight ribbing pattern would have, but the ribbing at the top of the sock keeps them from sagging.

I’ll let you know what the birthday girl thinks later in the week….

