Knitting Resolutions

by flowergirlknits

I’m going to do my Knitting Resolutions a little differently than traditional New Years Resolutions where major, often unreachable goals are set. That, in my opinion, just sets a person up for disappointment and come on, if there’s something you need to change, why wait until January 1? Instead, I’m going to list some of the knittery things I’m excited about working on and trying this year.

1. Mittens. Mittens are the new socks. They can be as simple or complicated as you want and can employ a variety of techniques (cables, colorwork, etc) They’re also small enough to be a carry-along project and to finish up relatively quickly.

2. New sock patterns. Socks are not going anywhere in terms of knitting preferences. I have lots of patterns in my Ravelry queue just begging to be knit.

3. Stranded colorwork. See mittens above. I’d like to work on my colorwork technique with the idea of eventually knitting traditional Fair Isle sweaters.

4. More cables. My current WIP, the Central Park Hoodie, has me hooked with it’s classic cables. Surprisingly easy but impressive looking – and fun!

5. Knit gauge swatches. I’ve already started this and hey, guess what, all those knitting books and instructions are right! A gauge swatch is incredibly useful and not really that hard or time consuming.

6. More sweaters. Just because I love to wear them.

7. Knit from my stash. The classic.

Now, doesn’t that sound like more fun than losing weight or getting in shape? You bet it does. Here’s wishing you a year filled with needles-and-yarn pleasures!

